June 28, 2013

  • journal entry

    Hello, Xanga, it's been a long time.   (points if you sang that in the right melody)   

    Well, I have had some time to examine some new things about myself, recently.  Me being in a relationship is different.  It has made me notice that I identify more with masculine stereotypes than with the girl ones.  I'm going to begin my examples with the giving of directions.  When you think of a woman giving directions, you think she will say something like...  "You turn right by Target and Kohls then head towards Starbucks."  When a man gives directions you will expect him to say, "Turn right on Richmond Road, then left on Mall Drive, it's on your right."   

    This is me giving directions to Lance.  "You turn right and go over the University Overpass."  "The what?"  "The overpass on University."  "Why don't you just tell me when to turn."   

    "You come into town on Summerhill.  Well, 59 where it turns into Summerhill.  At the first Stoplight, I think it's Third or Fourth Street, turn right."  "wait a minute, come into town where?"  "The street you live off of.  You come to the first stoplight.  Fourth Street.  Turn Right and it's up there on the Right."   "OK, you are going to have to give me a little more."  "Downtown, Broad Street and Main?"  "Do you mean by the Library."  "YES! across the street from the Library. Sorry, my brain doesn't work that way."  

    They say men give directions with street names, and women with landmarks.   Well, sorry.  

    Also, with the affection.  Women are usually the ones doling out the warm fuzzies to the man, right?  Not me.  I do good to just reply to most of them.  And, what the hell are pet names?  You'd think with all my nicknaming here I would be able to come up with something.  But I will never utter words like "sugar bear"  or... I'm drawing a blank.  See.  So I'll stick with "My Sun and Stars."  A completely nerdy Game of Thrones reference. A novel about people's heads being cut off and put on spikes.  Really girly, let me tell ya.  

     

    Leah K.

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment