November 25, 2012

  • nightmares entry

         It was my first day in a new field.  My day was full of social anxiety being with all these new people I didn't know.  In this last class, I walk in to meet the professor.  He's the reason I entered this program.  He had helped me get accepted based on potential he thought I possessed.  I was already behind.  The rest of the class had already formed their bond and been through certain projects together.  I found myself sitting at the front of the room with the rest of the class at my back.  I was informed our work was due the next week, but before then we had a test on Saturday.  The look on my face must have been awful because my professor ensures me I will get more time.  So much for the other students accepting me.  

         We adjourn to a meeting room.  I was going to have to deal with these meetings daily.  Everyone in the program was required to be there for the board to make sure we were all on the same page.  Keep your knowledge and secrets guarded.  Learn as quickly as possible.  Strive to keep everything moving forward.  Be careful to not make mistakes.  All this mentioned in a casual cocktail atmosphere.  I was trying to keep to myself.  At every turn was a potential conflict.  You see, I was married to one of the board members.  His 4th wife.  The 2nd wife and I happened to both be in love with the professor. 

         Things turned bad quickly.  We were under attack.  End of the World style take over.  We were all dragged away.  Our first stop was a propaganda lesson.  Sometime during the course of the lesson some of our company were able to escape.  The professor included.  The 2nd wife and I were sequestered away near each other.   The only way to escape was on foot, and the only place to escape to was the woods.  They treated me well.  One of the guards even offered to get books out of my car for me to read.  Little did he know that wasn't my car, and the book was way more valuable.  One evening, while the attackers were running drills we were able to meet with my husband.  He told the 2nd wife and I that the professor had gotten away, and also another couple who escaped in the other direction.  He assured us, they were all working together against our captors.  Not fast enough.   

         I had attracted notice.  I was called on to entertain one of the officers for dinner.  They put us together with the head of their operation and his entertainment.  Problems arose when his entertainment was not content to do what was bid him.   Soon I had blood splattered on me, and vomit around my feet.  We were struggling to break free of the camp.  Success was eluding us. 

     

     

     

        Luci was attending a new school.  It was an elite establishment. A new teacher. Only a few other children in her class.   They didn't allow absences.  Unless there was a death in the family.   We wanted Luci to be able to spend some time with her Aunt Laura who had come to visit.  The way my mother solved the problem?  

         She brought a cough drop to the table. Unwrapped it.  Laid it down.  Turned around and came back with a dagger.  Laura and I were somewhat confused.  How does crushing a cough drop with a dagger help our situation?  Then Gary came around the corner.  Mom stabbed the dagger all the way into his back.  If they need proof of a death in the family, we will give them proof of a death in the family.  What?  The thing was, he didn't die.   He would eventually from this injury, but not any time soon.   Mom decided to poison him as well.  And as she did this she convinced him to tell everyone he had forced her to do it.  When the poison kicked in, I took him to their bedroom.  Mom kept him in there.  She said she couldn't let people know that he was dead, yet.  The house was up for sale.  Someone was coming by to view it.   It was my job to keep her away from the bedroom.   She remarked about the smell.  I made some excuse.  I was sent to buy some supplies.  Some hard questions were asked and we were almost given away.  I was growing very weary.  

     

     

     

    Recital was about to start.  I had forgotten to get someone to video.  So I picked someone out of the crowd.  The dances began.  A few dances in I realized I didn't make programs.  The audience didn't know which dancers would be next.  About halfway through I had a number that involved singing.   A few audience members stood up and left.  More followed.  Why are they leaving!  It's not over!  I thought maybe if I got out in front of the stage, they would know we were still performing. by the time I turned around to look. They were all gone.   Every chair was empty.  A few students came up to me to ask if it was over.  No!  You haven't finished your dances.  Then their mother came to take them home.   I couldn't believe it.  How could all these people just leave! 

     

    Leah K.   

    Let my sleep be a little more pleasant tonight.