February 11, 2013

  • Love Parade (Stories #2, and #17)

    Chops and Challenger.   

    #2

    I was a band nerd.  Though the school was so small, the band was pretty large.  So, even some of the cool kids put on marching band uniforms.  Chops was one of those guys.  He was among the elite group of guys that were in the class above mine.  I remember the first day of band as a freshman, and somehow ending up in a conversation with Chops and his friend King (the king of the school).  "You're Lindsey's little sister, right?"  "Well, my name is Leah, but yeah."  "I was in love with her! She almost took me to Prom! Tell her, King says hey."   This was another reason I never got a boyfriend.  Who wants to date the younger sister when you have a crush on the older hot one.  Anyway, I got to know Chops over the next three years.  

    The summer after he graduated, my friend, Sexy, started dating his friend, TV.  I had just gone through that ridiculous break-up with Lance.   I fully committed to the break up philosophy of, "He doesn't know what he's missing." So, when Sexy was invited to a party at Chops' house with TV, I was all over it.   Sexy didn't have that nickname for no reason.  And it's not just made-up for this post.  That was her contact in my phone for 3 years.  So with her shirt, and her make-up to help me there was no risk of becoming the third wheel.  So while TV and Sexy were having a drama filled night in Chops' room, we were perfectly content in the living room.  That is until the rest of the party goers threw jello shots at my windshield for sport.  

    I'm not sure if I really learned my lesson on this night, or not. But, I knew it didn't make me feel any better.  This is why I made that promise to myself for the next year.    Senior year would be about fun, not guys.  

     

    #17

    So, did I learn my lesson?  Fast forward 8 years.  It's Challenger's birthday.  His fiance broke up with him a few months previous.  He hadn't gotten back in the game. We all go out together most weekends.  Cancun, Bud, Bestie, Little bro, Challenger, and I.  Bud is always trying to hook me up with Challenger.  I thought, "What the hell! It's his birthday. He needs to get laid.  I haven't gotten laid in 4 years.  Win win?"   While it fulfilled it's purpose to change my status from only having sex with one person in my life, it failed in making me feel better.  I always felt a little angry that Baby Daddy still held that claim over me.  His number was so big, but he was my only.  I wasn't about to let it stay that way any longer.  But I chose a horrible time, and a horrible person, for a horrible reason.  It sort of makes me wish for #3 to hurry up, but that is just as stupid.  

     

    And, I think I'm done.  This was my last meaningless float in the parade.  I want to get to the grand finale.  No more repeats.  No more crepe paper. Let's break out the roses.  

    Leah K.

Comments (3)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment