May 29, 2013

  • Book Entry

    The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

    Yes, it was adapted into a movie.  I saw the movie before I read the book.  I liked the movie.  The book was nothing like the movie.  Plot lines, yes.  Characters, no.  

    The first 3/4th's of the book I was completely enthralled.  The book was so real.  The awkwardness of the situations were apparent and obvious.  The moral dilemmas and immoral thoughts are completely present, and it's refreshing.  

    Hearing from both point of views was great.  Henry is a downright shitty person at times.  Extremely human and flawed.  Like we all can be.  He is self destructive and pessimistic.  This would never be revealed from Clare's point of view.  It also adds to her character in the fact that she loves this really flawed man.  

    There were pages of dreams.  Oh the torture.  You know me and my dreams.  My recurring dead baby dreams.  There were three full pages of dead baby dreams.  

    My own philosophies were echoed in the book.  The inevitability of fate.  Everything that happens has already happened. Can't be changed.  It's all happening at the same time and it all affects everything at once.  Mistakes you don't know you are going to make in the future are affecting your past and your present.  

    In other words, this was a good book for me.  It meshed.  I understood it.  

    The last 1/4th of the book felt long and drawn out and slow moving.  Then it ended abruptly and I thought there was so much untold.  

    Which is why it only got 4 out of 5 stars.

     

     

    An Entry inside an Entry.

     

    Everyone always says you can't change the past.  The past is unchangeable.  That's completely untrue.  My past changes daily.  My memories are molded by the present.  The meaning changes.  The outcome lengthens and stretches. The ripples double back on each other.  They say hindsight is 20/20.  I really just think we are majorly far-sighted.  The further away the more we can see.  The more details that weren't even thought of.  The past isn't always far away.  It's just as blurry when it's up close.  The lines get fuzzy and our mind molds it differently than it was originally.  My past only exists as it is in my present.  The rest is gone.  

    Leah K.

Comments (2)

  • The Time Traveler's Wife is one of my top 5 favorite movies of all time!  In the movie, the ending is the best part.

    I really enjoyed your entry inside an entry.  I think you are right about how our perceptions of the past change over time.  "The further away the more we see."  I like how you make philosophical points in a poetic fashion.

  • @mr_white_tie_affair - Thank you for the compliment.  I enjoy philosophy and poetry. :)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment