April 13, 2013

  • Real Talk

     

    Carpe Diem - William Shakespeare

    O mistress mine, where are you roaming? 
    O stay and hear! your true-love's coming 
    That can sing both high and low; 
    Trip no further, pretty sweeting, 
    Journey's end in lovers' meeting-- 
    Every wise man's son doth know. 

    What is love? 'tis not hereafter; 
    Present mirth hath present laughter; 
    What's to come is still unsure: 
    In delay there lies no plenty,-- 
    Then come kiss me, Sweet and twenty, 
    Youth's a stuff will not endure.

     

     

    I am always saying I want to live somewhere else.  I want a life different from the one I have.

    I am not settled.  I am not stationary.  I am not satisfied.  

    I am roaming. I'm also alone.  

    Why, when I view my future as an unknown, would I attach myself to another person?  

    But then, my future would no longer be unknown if I attached myself to another person.

    As you can see I have hit a Catch 22.   

    I believe wholeheartedly that my journey is not ending.  

    I believe wholeheartedly that my journey isn't leading me just to some lovers' meeting.  

    Is this denial?  

    I spend most of my time avoiding people that don't fit into my ever changing future.  

    Would it be better to make a future based on a person? 

    Would it be a sacrifice?  Would it be settling? 

    Or is it really "In delay there lies no plenty"?  

    Am I missing out on something?  

    I need a change.  For real this time.

    I must decide if I want a change in the direction of my future.

    Or should I look for my future in someone else?

    I've never actively searched for someone.  

    Since "youths a stuff will not endure".

    I guess I must change my thoughts on love being a hereafter.

     

    Leah K.

Comments (4)

  • All the leaves are brown... and the sky is gray...

  • @BenelliMan - I'd be safe and warm..  if I was in L.A.?

  • Yes, it is a sacrifice and settling but I think not being with someone who is your counterpart is missing out on something.  And that it is just another journey but together.

    When I met Walter I was working two jobs and taking a bar tending course.  My goal was to go work bar on a cruise ship and see the world. Also save up enough money to go to graduate school and see about going into publishing. 

    Ha. Then Walter came along. Said Train's "If You Leave" made him think of me.  I wanted to go and thought he'd come along.  Laughs on me, he doesn't go he stays right where he is and that's where I am. I may regret never fulfilling my personal dreams but thinking of a reality in which Walter didn't exist, crushes me. 

    The trick is finding the right one or having the right one find you.  Only then is it right.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment